Caterpillar Transformation 

Edit

I know Easter is over, but I should probably write about it since it’s probably the single most important holiday as a Christian. Yes, I know Easter wouldn’t exist if it weren’t for Christmas. But Easter Sunday is when we try to understand the significance of God giving us his son for our sins (I don’t know if any of you are parents, but the thought of giving up my child for any reason sounds terrifying).
The title of this post actually has to do with my son. There is a book called, “The Very Hungry Caterpillar”. The caterpillar is small and begins to eat.  Over the course of a week, he eats so much that he is no longer little, but has grown (and has a tummy ache). He eats one leaf to settle his stomach, then builds a cocoon. After 2 weeks, he eats a little hole through the chrysalis and emerges as a beautiful butterfly. The preacher on Sunday presented this story during ‘Children’s Time’. He used it as a reference to how the caterpillar transformed into a butterfly and the analogy of how Jesus transformed after he died. I loved it. My son knows this story, so he got a good base understanding of the Easter story.

Transformation is a change. I hope that I can change for the better. Every day. Changing to be more like Jesus. Faithful and kind. Teaching and healing. We can make changes and choices everyday to transform into better Christians. We speak of the resurrection of Jesus as a single event. But no offence, we aren’t Christ. His change was a change in form; in order to be able to sit at God’s right hand. Our changes should be lifelong, daily, and intentional.
I vow to work on changing and improving my faith through prayer, scripture readings, and writing.

“Everything in your life is there as a vehicle for your transformation. Use it. -Ram Dass

One thought on “Caterpillar Transformation ”

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Easter message and the theme of transformation. Like you I want to walk a genuine and meaningful Christian walk. I too want to change, to be transformed into the image of Christ.
    I popped across to thank you for following my blog – A Purpose-driven achiever. Appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

