Captain, my Captain

Hello fellow bloggers. I am a day late posting my normal weekly blog. And the topic I had planned on has changed. Yesterday, we got the sad news that one of our dogs’, Captain, has lymphoma. He is a 7 year old brindle boxer/chocolate lab mix. And he is our best friend.

At a whopping 85 pounds, he still likes to sit on my lap, and sleep in my bed. He doesn’t know that he is a large dog. Gentle giant fits him perfectly. I used to let my infant lounge around with him without fear.

captaintrey

We won’t find out until later this week the full diagnosis and prognosis, but my heart is heavy. Many of us have pets. They enrich our lives. They are innocent, typically happy, and often calming. Captain has been a handful though; he got Parvo when he was puppy and had to be quarantined for almost a week, he’s had more ear infections (and 4 ear surgeries) than any child I know, and he’s allergic to almost everything. But he’s my baby. Before I had my baby, he was my baby. I cared for him, fed him, took him to the doctor when he was sick. He relied/relies on me, and I’m feeling like I’ve let him down. Like I should’ve noticed sooner that something was wrong. I’m trying to be positive, and not weigh on the past, so moving forward, this big guy is getting spoiled!

Pfote

But, on a religious note… God created animals. He created them and called them good (Gen 1:25). He speaks to them, whether it is to go to the Ark (Gen 7:9), or bring Elijah food (1 Kings 17:4-6). God cares for and enjoys animals, and says that we should care for them too. Proverbs 12:10, “The righteous care for the needs of their animals, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel”. Matthew 10:29-31 shows God’s concern for humans, but it also doesn’t discount his concern for the fallen sparrow.

God created animals and people. At the time, they were all innocent. But it was humans who ate from the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil, not animals. Their innocence remains. Please say a prayer for my sweet Captain’s innocence to be around a little longer.

care

Photo credit:

Viking Life Blog – Word Press

My Homeworks – blog

References:

Bible

Biblehub.com

http://erlc.com/resource-library/articles/10-biblical-truths-about-animals

 

Leave a Reply

