“I’m fine”

How often do we say that? I say it at least once a day. A friend, stranger, family member, or coworker asks, “How are you?” And it doesn’t matter how I really I am but I say, “I’m fine, how are you?” That’s the social norm, right? But sometimes, I’m technically lying. Because I’m not always fine. At times I feel like I am faking my way through the day. And right now I’m torn as to what is the right thing to do in that situation. I shouldn’t lie, but I don’t want to divulge all my feelings to everyone either.

imfine

I have a history of some mild depression and anxiety. Some days, weeks, months are better than others. This has been a particularly difficult couple of weeks. Psalm 38: 6,8 – “I am bowed down and brought very low; all day long I go about mourning. I am feeble and utterly crushed; I groan in anguish of heart.” As sad as it is, this Psalm is so poetic and eerily describes my feelings pretty well. I’m a slow Christian, and have just recently turned more to God for it. Proverbs 18:14 – “A person’s spirit sustains him through sickness–but who can bear a crushed spirit?” My soul should be cheerful and loving, but if God’s love is withheld, it will be dejected and depressed. Let God’s love in!

Peace. One of my favorite words, and something I constantly seek. So when I saw this following verse, it hit home. Philippians 4:6-7 – Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Peace_Gold_LR

 

It is easier said than done to completely trust in another, isn’t it? But God…we can trust Him. I need to learn to do that. To cast my fears and anxiousness on to Him, to pray, and to have no fear. Psalm 121:1-2 – I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; from where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

Just because I am feeling down, sad, anxious, depressed, etc. it is not everything. I have a life to live, people and animals that I love to take care of. A job that entails helping others. There is much good in my world, and I need to focus on that and remember it. Corinthians 4:8-9, 16a – We are hard pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed…Therefore we do not lose heart.

I can’t change much my sitting around and feeling upset or sad about it, so why do it? Luke 12:25-26 – “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?” Preach it Luke! If you can’t change it, don’t stress about it and move on, look forward, and change the things you can.

 

 

Leave a Reply

