Healthy Inside ⇔ Healthy Outside

healthy_vs_unhealthy_food_foodguruz.in_

By no means am I a health nut. I like to exercise. I eat a lot of vegetables. But I also eat 5 pieces of pizza in one sitting and a bag of chips during one episode of Blue Bloods. Food and water keep us alive, otherwise we would whittle away to nothing. Nutrients, vitality, life. Food and water bring us these things. Acts 27:34 – “Now I urge you to take some food. You need it to survive…” Good advice.

It’s also good to exercise and work hard, but sleep and rest are essential as well. Exodus 34:21 – You shall work six days, but on the seventh day you shall rest; even during plowing time and harvest you shall rest.” Again, smart thinking.

But what I’ve come to learn through personal experience and my reading of the Bible, is that yes, we need nutrients, food, and rest to survive, but that we also need God and His word. Matthew 4:4 – But he answered, “It is written, “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God””.

stethoscope_bible_slide_350_225_85

From what I can tell, if you are healthy on the outside then you’ll have the gumption, energy, and fulfillment to be healthy on the inside. But also, if you’re at peace, and you soul is happy, then you’re able to pray for bodily health. So, they go hand in hand.

c--jesus-facts-scripture-verses

3 John: 1:2 – Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.

Proverbs 16:24 – Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

Jeremiah 33:6 – Behold, I bring to it health and healing, and I will heal them; and I will reveal to them an abundance of peace and truth.

The movie title, “Eat. Pray. Love” comes to mind. Maybe that really is all we need to be happy.

eat_pray_love

Leave a Reply

