Astrology in the Bible

I’m a Leo. My birthday is coming up at the end of the month (I won’t tell you how old I’ll be though). I went searching for some biblical readings about astrology and did not like what I found! I understand some of it, maybe. But to me, God made the stars align in certain ways for a reason, so why not try to understand, interpret, and use that information?

psalms-147-4-free-bible-verse-desktop-wallpapers

See below for some scripture:

  • Leviticus 19:26, “…Do not practice divination…”
  • Leviticus 19:31, “Do not turn to mediums or seek out spiritists, for you will be defiled by them”
  • Leviticus 20:6, “I will set my face against anyone who turns to mediums and spiritists to prostitute themselves by following them, and I will cut them off from their people”
  • Leviticus 20:27, “A man or woman who is a medium or spiritist among you must be put to death. You are to stone them; their blood will be on their own heads”
  • Deuteronomy 18:10, “Let no one be found among you…who practices divination or sorcery, interprets omens, engages in witchcraft”
  • II Kings 21:6, “He…practiced divination, sought omens, and consulted mediums and spiritists. He did much evil in the eyes of the Lord, arousing his anger”
  • Isaiah 47:13-14, “…Let your astrologers come forward, those stargazers who make predictions month by month, let them save you from what is coming upon you. …the fire will burn them up. They cannot even save themselves from the power of the flame. These are not coals for warmth; this is not a fire to sit by”

Some of that is scary sounding stuff! I understand having no other gods before Him and not worshiping worldly (or otherworldly) things. I certainly don’t think that the pattern of the stars is above God. But whoever did the research regarding the stars, constellations, and zodiac signs, seems to have gotten something partially right. I think we could all read our horoscopes and say that part of it is right, and part of it is wrong. Being a Leo, our typical personality traits include: loyalty, aggressiveness, pride, wanting to be right, needing attention, etc. And some of those are true for me, some of the time, but not always. I think astrology has a place in our world, even if it’s just for entertainment value. I really don’t want the astrologers to burn up when the time comes simply because of their job, interest, and research.

zodiac_signs

The bible states that the constellations are a real thing, it’s just that God didn’t think we should make life changing decisions based on them – totally understandable! I often read my horoscope at the END of the day. I don’t want some silly statement to get in my head and rule my day. If I read it in the evening, I can say, “Yep, that’s how it went”, or “Nope. Totally wrong”.

So, in short. God is Almighty – the stars are not. Sure, read your horoscope, learn about your sign, but don’t idolize it. Pray to Him. Read the Bible. Go to Church. And laugh at the silliness that astrology can be.

stars-quote

3 thoughts on “Astrology in the Bible”

Leave a Reply

