The C word

I feel like I’ve only been writing about negative things lately. Lat week it was suicide. This week: Cancer. I also had a post a few months ago about canine cancer.

I’ve had friends, family, and even pets at this point, be riddled by this disease. Most recently, just yesterday in fact, I learned that my mother in law has an early diagnosis of both liver and pancreatic cancer. We don’t have much information yet, but just hearing the word is a negative shock to the system.

greenribbon 5b239595ad878f70d243060b4fac4b7a

My dog is doing well with his chemo treatments. My Grandpa just got the word that he is in remission from throat cancer. Two positives in the way of cancer. But now this. This sweet, southern lady, who is a child of God. My father in law is devastated. I’m just hoping that they caught it early enough to try to make some headway against it.

There aren’t any specific references to cancer in the Bible. But maybe it was just called something else back then? There is a lot of mention of disease in the good book. Jesus healed a lot, and God states that he will forgive our sins and heal our diseases (Psalm 103). I don’t think this is a physical healing, but an emotional, faithful, soul-saving kind of healing that He will provide by letting us spend eternity in Heaven.

7c439d170df0552d90d0bc46f2430445--healing-hands-healing-prayer

There are also many places in the Bible that are encouraging, peaceful, and redeeming about being close to God while ill. Isaiah 40:31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles. Jeremiah 30:17a For I will restore health to you, and your wounds I will heal, declares the Lord.

There seem to be some theories about apricot seeds, B vitamins, etc that may have been established in the bible, but I don’t know about this. My honest opinion is that we eat bad, don’t exercise, expose ourselves to a poor environment, get cancer, and then it doesn’t get diagnosed early enough to get it all. Now, don’t get me wrong, there are lots of medicines and surgeries that help with cancer, but very rarely do we hear of a natural, holistic cure being successful.

I just pray that everyone who is going through a tough time, whether it be with cancer or not, feels able to rely on God. To pray. To read the bible. To open up to their church family. I pray for health and happiness to all.

3b14c67c68bbdd1c3d115a3fbdb2d0be

biblestudytools.com

gotquestions.com

Leave a Reply

