Long drives

I took a long drive this past weekend. I left home at 6:30 pm on Friday evening and didn’t arrive to my destination until 1:00 am on Saturday morning. 6.5 hours of driving (well, my co-pilot drove 2 of it). We spent 36 hours there, and then turned around and came back. It was a tough trip. I was exhausted when we arrived at 1 am.

But it was to see my sick mother-in-law. And you wanna talk about exhausted. My tiredness was nothing compared to hers. Physically, mentally, and emotionally, she was just drained. She did pick up a little when her son came by with dinner on Saturday night, but otherwise, she stayed very quiet and slept a lot.

Long drives are hard. But they are worth it. I’m glad I took the time to go see her. I don’t know when (and sadly, if) I’ll see her again. The time in the car hurt my rear end and my back. But I was happy both times. On the way there, I hoped that she would be pleased to see us. I knew I’d be happy to see her. And on the way home, I was glad that I got to spend that time with family.

635929993412409527-1353917869_Image-1-1

Long drives give me time to decompress. Think. Pray. Reflect. Whether they are to see an ailing family member, or to a spring break destination, long drives really aren’t difficult to enjoy. I am typically very busy and don’t take ‘me time’ enough, and being in the car forced me to do this. I probably need to take road trips more often. And probably to see family that I haven’t kept up with.

Maybe I won’t be driving all over the country, but I do need to do a better job of keeping in touch with family. I’m going to plan to message a family member every week.

One thought on “Long drives”

Leave a Reply

